appointment reminder

November 30, 2006 § 9 Comments

My medical group is pretty cool. They use a web interface for making appointments, requesting referrals and filling prescriptions. To access my personal medical records I just plug in my password and log on.

That’s how I came upon on my preliminary lab results earlier this month. Unfortunately it was before the definitive biopsy was in, so I was left deciphering ominous codes and guessing at meanings on my own.

A few clicks on-line and I learned that BI-RADS 5 at the end of a report is very bad news indeed. That helped explain why the radiologist said she was “deeply concerned”.

Weeks later and I am on and off this info rich site daily prompted by emails that point me to log on and retrieve a new message. I don’t have high hopes for these messages. They’re often appointment reminders and I have many appointments to be reminded of.

Appointment reminder for Monday 12/4/2006

8:30am Appointment with CHAIR 22.

First, this doesn’t sound fun. Second, this doesn’t sound human.

In the meantime, today’s appointment was with an honest to goodness live person, the affable Abram Recht – Radiation Oncologist. It’s not easy to find his group. They’re hidden in the basement; a dandy place to hide the Radiation. This visit was mostly a meet and greet with a brief exam thrown in. Nothing more than happy heads up about what to expect, 6-8-10 months down the road after chemotherapy and surgery.

It’s starting to feel a bit surreal again.

For the record, radiation is nothing like chemo. No nausea, or hair loss. Maybe some fatigue but not the huge chemo exhaustion. Good news there. On the other hand, I am told that you might get a rash, a burn, some discoloration, and if it’s on your left side (which it is in my case) there is a very small chance of damage to the heart and in the most rare of instances, a risk of cancer.

This does not make sense to me.

Nor does an appointment with a chair.

Another thing that does not make sense to me, but nonetheless delights me is that I am especially photogenic this month so I am smiling.

Love Momo

§ 9 Responses to appointment reminder

  • Rebecca says:

    Since you may be sick and unable to eat during chemo, I suggest for now eating whever you want, no matter how fattening. Chocolate cake. Ice cream frappes. Pancakes. That’s what I’d eat. I bet Frannie would second this advice.

    Love and kisses.

    Reb

  • Ricki says:

    Once upon a time “appt with chair 22″ would have sounded normal. If Hampshire didn’t teach you that then what did you learn? I know for myself it’s hard to put it into words but ” appt with chair 22″ sounds about right. So go to that appt and let me know what the psychic says.
    I bet it’s important. Oh, and smoke some pot after. Jonas is right.
    Love,love,love,
    Ricki
    P.S. You’re absolutely right you look radiant ( no pun intended) this month.

  • Mark says:

    We have a friend named “Lucy” who is seeing a doctor to get well. That’s all Mia, at age 5, knows for now. And if, during a playdate at some point, Frannie tells Mia stuff about Mumma Momo, that’s totally cool. Maybe Mia will put 2 + 2 together, maybe not. Doesn’t matter.

    Last night during bedtime song and prayers in which we asked God to watch over Linda-and-Kyle-and-Mia-and-Daddy-and-all-of-our-friends-and-family-and-all-of-the-people-we-know-and-love (a bit boilerplate, I know), Mia made sure we included “and Lucy”.

    Wasn’t the first time. Won’t be the last, either.

    Never underestimate the magic and power of a 5 year old!

  • Edie Read says:

    chair meets very photogenic chairwoman with an already radiant,warm power.
    think it.
    Edie

  • Lori says:

    Seymour Hirsch has nothing on Momo’s Blog. Leave it to you, Marilyn, to make your own breast cancer into an insightful, warm and witty graphic montage. It is so comforting to have the updates, feel pary of the Momo community and know that you are doing ok in the midst of all of this. Your healthy spirti inspires, please know that we want to help out any way we can. Lori and fam.

  • Gail and Suzy and Rose says:

    Just like you to call enroute to an A&E celebratory dinner in the big Apple while being primped, manicured & pedicured. So She She or rather “So Mo Mo”. Hope the deluxe door-to-door snooze cruise back to Bean Town refreshes. See you tomorrow.

    BTW Your urgent circumstance prompted my own personal snoopy-booby-radiographic adventure. Last week’s digital go ’round was not crystal clear ergo today’s “do over”. I’m fine except for the beautiful peacock-like bruising. Flat as a what? Now all I need is some maple syrup to complete the dish.

    Off on the horizon I can see alot of our family and friends traipsing off for the big s-q-u-e-e-z-e. Little or Big, soft or firm – our body parts may betray us ….

    BUT OUR FRIENDS NEVER WILL!
    LONG LIVE OUR FRIENDS!
    May we all celebrate your progress and enjoy your glowing personality for many years to come.

    Love Ya’,
    Big Sis Gail

  • kcasa says:

    well after all it really isn’t the way you feel – it is the way you look and you are looking!! love you

  • Karen says:

    Thank you so much for keeping us posted. I think about you every day. Concerned thoughts and postive thoughts. I know you are going to make it through this awful period.

    Is it time to start organizing some meals for chemo days? We have some excellent chefs inquiring.

    Love ya

  • LB says:

    Hi Sweetie,

    Thanks for making the trek to the bubbly celebration of the program. Life is surreal.

    I’ll be thinking about you and chair 22 tomorrow. Put me on your dance card for one of those visits. We’ll pretend to knock back Vodka Tonics and gossip.

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading appointment reminder at The Momo Blog.

meta

