drink plenty of fluids

December 9, 2006 § 4 Comments

I was driving through Coolidge Corner this afternoon when I started thinking about real life tragedies. Men and women stricken suddenly by illness. I thought about their lives and the lives of their families turned upside down.

I was heading down Harvard Street. The light was green in my favor. I was freezing, but other than that, my life was perfectly normal. My life was certainly not a tragedy. That was someone else’s sad shtick.

I assumed I would always be exempt. I was not exempt. Worse, I wondered if I was still young enough for my illness to be considered a tragedy, or is this what we are to expect as we push nearer to 50?

It has been a very long week for me.

On Wednesday I went to see my acupuncturist. Jim Guo. I had no idea how sore and tired I was until he touched my elbows and ankles and they ached. A million needles later, which I slept through, like I slept through a phone call the other day and every movie aired for me recently, and I was less achy by some degree.

I was grateful for Jim’s diet advice. He recommended a constant flush, cups and cups of warm water. Ginger tea, soup with ginger and garlic, more ginger, more garlic, warm water, and a warm bath. I had to flush the toxins. I had to free the cannonball that had lodged in my belly. I had to wash it away, with my own Katrina.

Jim’s credentials were reassuring. He had shepherded his father through chemotherapy and colon cancer.

Later that afternoon I received a call from my health insurance company. When BCBS came up on the caller ID I was moderately panic stricken. What if breast cancer was suddenly not covered by my medical plan? Happily there is a limit to the bad news you can get in a month and this call was nothing more than an introduction. They have assigned me a nurse caseworker. Her advice. Drink lots of fluids, and flush the toxins.

Tonight I made chicken soup with ginger and garlic and will bring a Thermos of mint tea to bed followed by a second. I will visualize cannonballs floating away on chemo rivers while the blood in my body is manufactured brand new.

Love Momo

§ 4 Responses to drink plenty of fluids

  • Laura says:

    I am so glad you saw Jim, he has given good advice. Your strength amazes me & I look forward to helping you through this.

  • Lynda Brown says:

    It is a comfort that you are in one of the best chicken soup zones in the world. Keep the liquids coming.

  • Ricki says:

    Momo,
    I’m still thinking about you everyday and I wish I could offer you some life altering advice that would change this experience from your own private hell to your own private nirvana ( well maybe not private nirvana. I’d like to visit you there). But in the meantime all I can come up with is the old jewish idiom “eat dahling, eat, the soup is good for you”
    Once again,love,love and more love
    Ricki

  • Gail says:

    Thinking of you….
    Praying for you….
    Loving you…..

    G.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading drink plenty of fluids at The Momo Blog.

meta

