feeling lucky

January 2, 2007 § 9 Comments

It was a mellow week around here. If you don’t count the dining room table catching fire. Tip: never mix floating candles with birthday balloons.

I slept a lot. I watched movies. I made pots of soup and went to holiday parties at the home of close friends. My sister and nephew visited each with their fabulous entourage. I exercised and saw my acupuncturist. It was all-good. It’s been two weeks since my last treatment. Naturally, I feel great. That will change.

Tomorrow I hit the wall and the wall hits me back, harder.

Appointment reminder for Tuesday 1/2/2007
11:30am CHAIR 8
I like the even numbered chairs.

It’s been two months and I finally own up to my cancer. I suffer from chronic optimism so it’s really not that bad. It could be so much worse. It’s totally treatable and there is so much that been a gift:

I’ve been craving healthy foods. I’ve lost a few pounds. My business partner and my friends have amazed me. Marty is finer than I thought possible. Frannie is as compassionate as she is sweet; we can play dress up as long as I have first dibs on all the wigs and permission to hoard the hats.

On the subject of hats, I’ve been to Bloomingdales, Barney’s and Bebe and they have nothing on the Friendship Boutique at The Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

Tip: enter through the lobby and take the elevator to the 9th floor.

LB and DD joined me on my first visit to the shop where I made the mistake of pulling into the hospital parking lot earmarked for patients. From there it was direct access to the hospital. Direct access to the 3rd floor, Pediatric Oncology and the Pediatric Brain Tumor unit.

I think I speak for all of us when I say being poisoned and losing your hair never looked so good. I continue to feel lucky.

Happy New Year and all things good to all of you.

Xoxo Momo

§ 9 Responses to feeling lucky

  • paula says:

    Wishing you a Wonderous New Year, with enough even numbered chairs to induce continued vibrant optimism.

    Only the best, to a courageous vixen, a role model to all. Thinking of you daily, with tenderness, and love.

    Paula

  • Rick Beyer says:

    Your smile is so worth a million dollars.

    Happy New Year, I’ll call this wwwk.

    RIck

  • oz says:

    There’s alittle known yiddish proverb that says when your dining room table catches fire at new years, it’s a sign of good luck…I guess it happened in Chelm all the time.

    oxox
    oz

  • Cathy Hurst says:

    My brother Rick pointed me to your site. I look forward to reading every entry, and I find it inspiring, funny, and aspirational. BTW, both the wigs and the buzz look fabulous! I’m sending prayers and positive vibes your way….

    Cathy

  • Kathy Dann says:

    Happy New Year to you! You are one of the hottest bald women I’ve ever seen! Keep your optimism. It’s a privledge for me to read your positive words. I can’t wait to see you.
    Love,
    Kathy

  • Carey says:

    Mo,

    Happy New Year. You look great. I love you in short hair. It’s the best do you’ve ever had. Keep it.

    Frannie is beautiful. And it sounds as though you have a great group of friends. It sounds like they should buy you a fire extinguisher.

    Big love,

    Carey

  • David and Claire says:

    Marilyn,

    We, too, are optimistic. How can we not be when you keep racing down the even-numbered chairs and your dining room table catches fire at new years? Your journal continues to inspire, to make us laugh, to educate, and most of all, to remind us how much we love your indominatable spirit.

    The photos are great! I suppose if you can’t show chairs anymore, pictures of the buzz cut are the next best thing. (But hope the salon’s attorneys don’t hear about it.) It’s surprisingly easy to picture you as a redhead — you have the right personality for drama — but the idea that you can choose a color and style to suit the occasion or your mood sounds even better.

    Tell Frannie she’s a sweetheart for letting you choose first. Also tell her she has a fabulous mom. We love you both.

  • Karen Waer says:

    Hi Momo,

    You are inspirational. Thank you for letting us in. Look forward to seeing you at the end of January. Photo’s are wonderful!

    Love, Karen

  • Rob Rosenberg says:

    Marilyn,
    Sue’s brother Rob here, as you may know I recently had a run in as a cancer-boy myself. I’m thrilled you are doing well and meeting this head on, and wanted to give you a thoughts that helped me through it.
    Think of getting better as your new job, devote your energy to that and your needs.
    Treat Yourself, you are worth it.
    It’s ok to cry if you need to. Do it and get over it and then do something fun.
    Let people help you if you need it.
    Try to do a little more than you think you can. You’ll feel good when you do it.
    Stay Strong,
    Rob

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading feeling lucky at The Momo Blog.

meta

