root pump plus

January 17, 2007 § 6 Comments

Big Sexy Hair

I received the email notification over a week ago:

Appointment reminder for Tuesday 1/16/2007
9:30am Dr Steven Come
10:00am CHAIR 20

I always liked the even number chairs.

Yesterday began with the ritual blood tests and taking of vital signs confirming I can tolerate another “treatment”. But first, an appointment with Dr Come.

The bad guys (aka cancer cells) have been sucking up the ACT/cytoxin cocktail since early December. Tricked into drinking a poison elixir (hee hee hee) my cancer cells are convulsing and spewing out of me in a river of Wisosky tea.

Dr Come is two steps ahead, he does not under estimate our enemy. Even as the tumor shrinks, and quite notably, he does not want to give them a chance to become immune. After 4 dense doses of ACT/cytoxin he’ll change my meds and on January 30th, two weeks from today, I’ll mainline Taxol instead. There’s always an “X” in these meds though they never use the word poison they are not afraid to drop a hint in naming.

By the time I entered the “treatment” room. It was a full house. All Monday treatments moved to Tuesday again due to the long holiday weekend. My regular nurse, Julie has Tuesday off. Jacqueline was subbing for her.

I eyed Chair 20. It was occupied. Marty handed over the parking ticket for a validation sticker and we waited as they reviewed the seating chart. Like a hot restaurant on a Friday night, we hung at the reception desk until they banished us to the waiting area. No bar or jazz trio in sight.

They called my name. My chair was ready.

The maitre’d offered me Chair 21.
“Do you have anything in an even number perhaps?”
The answer was no. This wasn’t a case of slipping her a $20 or even waiting for a chair to open up. You get what you get and you don’t get upset.
Chair 21, it was like going back in time.

I pushed into the blue vinyl recliner, accepted the blanket the Jacqueline offered and paid minimal attention to the drip. Only enough to alert the nurse of a burning sensation, the tell tale sign of a bad reaction. After one vial of ACT and a red flare-up on my hand near the infusion site we paused. Eventually it faded and the syringe in the IV resumed.

I pack for treatments like I would a road trip; ipod charged, slippers, thermos. Clementine’s and tea, my cell phone, my notebook, I don’t bother with the camera.

My favorite volunteer came by, Roger.

He offered us a Turkey sandwich. I passed, but I was happy to see that someone had tipped them off about his nausea-inducing menu a couple weeks back of egg salad and chicken salad sandwiches.

Roger had a present for me. Truth is I couldn’t help but notice the stash of holiday gift bags on the receptionist’s table. He pulled a bright red bag off the counter and handed it to me. I would have guessed a mug with Santa, maybe a stuffed reindeer; my hopes weren’t high for anything practical. Happily, my cleaning lady appreciated all my re-gifts; fruitcakes and candy dishes. I was sure this had her name on it as well.

The bag was heavier than expected. I opened it. Inside were three large cans of hair product; Hairspray, hair gel and giant red can called “Big Sexy Hair” root pump plus humidity resistant volumizing spray mousse.

“Roger, I don’t have hair.”

“Don’t worry,” he says, it will grow back.

I hand back two of three cans, it’s just too generous (and too heavy to carry). I hold on to the “Big Sexy Hair” root pump plus humidity resistant volumizing spray mousse.

I fall asleep for some period time. I dream about big sexy hair. When I wake up Marty tells me that Roger had come by again and sang me a lullaby.

I can hardly wait for my next treatment.

Xoxo Momo

§ 6 Responses to root pump plus

  • oz says:

    You’d rather have 20 than 21?!

    We’re talking BlackJack…Triple 7’s…

    Much better number.

    oxoxo
    oz

  • DD says:

    I have a pile of lucky numbers you can use.
    3,9,11,21,22,23
    I’ve already hit one or two of them and I was happy to hear about Chair 21.

    All Good luck.

    Can’t wait to use the Big Sexy Hair product together!
    xodd

  • caryl says:

    you’re outlook is always amazing! I too see great comfoprt in the even numbers (even tho they are anti-fenf shu.as I understand). But whatever they label it, you’re doing great!

  • Karen Waer says:

    Hi Momo – Sometimes I wonder what I can do to make a difference. Roger reminds me how amazing small acts of kindness are.

    Have you heard that it’s really cold here? I haven’t seen frost in years (8 exactly. One of our cactus is dropping pods like crazy. But it’s so large and strong it will come back when it warms up. No prunning needed this year!

    You are awesome.

    Love, Karen

  • Marty says:

    Dear Momo,

    Great entry.

    I know your preference for even numbers and didn’t want to say anything when you were assigned chair 21, but here is how 20 and 21 compare according to numerology (in this case as passed on to the Chaldean through Kabalah). Not that numerology means anything, but I wasn’t at all disappointed with the assignment.

    Love,

    Marty

    *20* THE AWAKENING In addition to being called “The Awakening”, this Compound number is also pictured by the ancient Chaldeans as “The Judgment”. It has a peculiar interpretation, and is symbolized as a “winged angel, sounding a trumpet, while from below, a man, woman and child are seen arising from a tomb, with their hands clasped in prayer”. At some time in the experience of the person or entity represented by the number 20, there is a powerful awakening, bringing a new purpose, new plans, new ambition – the call to action for some great cause or ideal. There may be occasional delays and obstacles to one’s plans, but these may be conquered through developing patience (the challenge of the number 20) and by continually cultivating faith in one’s own powers to transform. 20 brings the blessing of vivid precognitive dreams, plus the ability to manifest the happy ones and cancel the negative ones.

    *21* THE CROWN OF THE MAGI 21 is pictured as “The Universe”, and is also called “The Crown of the Magi”. It promises general success, and guarantees advancement, honors, awards, and general elevation in the life and career. It indicates victory after a long struggle, for the “Crown of the Magi” is gained only after long initiation, much soul testing and various other tests of determination. However, the person or entity blessed with the number 21 may be certain of final victory over all odds and all opposition. It’s a most fortunate vibration – a number of karmic reward.

  • Judy says:

    Not to mention that 21 is the winning hand in Blackjack! So happy to hear your success stories and that your doctor is thinking several steps ahead. Regarding the naming of the drugs… I’ve had this thought too as I am about to embark on a 5 year adventure with Tamoxifen. These people need branding help! That drug name all but has the word “Toxic” embedded in it. C’mon, do something to make me feel better about this… “estrorest” or “breast friend” … a little help here! Then again, maybe I appreciate the embedded honesty in the name. Wishing you love and light as always.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading root pump plus at The Momo Blog.

meta

