the finish line

August 17, 2007 § 12 Comments

lone-runner.jpg

umbrella.jpg

One more radiation treatment left. I feel like the last runner in a marathon. The sun has set, the crowds have gone, paper cups litter the street. My diehard friends cheer me on. Inches away, cars zoom past, like life. Fast and unaware. I drag one foot and place it in front of the other.

I’m bringing something celebratory to my last treatment as a show of thanks to the staff and to mark this anticlimatic ending. I thought about gift wrapping bottles of bar-b-q sauce. All the skin they treat could use a touch of marinade before baking.

barbq-sauce.jpgrdx.jpg

They tell me I’ll get my energy back, in weeks or months. My skin will heal more rapidly.

Poisoned, cut and burned sums it up. Three cheers and 2.5mg of Femara every day now. I hope it works. I hope it all worked.

I have chosen to run, though more than likely, I will walk in a 5k fundraiser on September 23rd. It’s for a good cause; the elimination of breast cancer. Just five weeks away, I suspect I might stumble across that finish line as well. I have become less graceful.

The thought of putting myself out for there for a 5k race and not being able to raise a boatful of money is just too pitiful to consider. That said, please click on the link below (or to the right) and make a contribution. Beyond all the tax-deductible blah blah your support cheers me on and it has done so for the past nine months. Thank you.

RACE FOR THE CURE

Xoxo Momo

§ 12 Responses to the finish line

  • Lisa Sharkey says:

    Dear Auntie Momo,

    Your marathon run has been an inspiration and I send you gold silver and bronze medals as you stand proudly on the victory platform. Thank you for the gift of your words and pictures. Thank you for being you — amazing mother, sister, aunt, friend and survivor!

    With much love always,

    Lisa

  • Deanne says:

    Hip Hip Hooray!!!!!
    We’re all cheering you on today and tomorrow!
    NO MORE CANCER, NO MORE CANCER!

    You’ve shown tremendous stregth and we’re all really proud of you.

    All good things ahead.
    Thank god the big cancer triology is over.

    I’ll be there for you during your Race for the Cure.
    Walk or Run…doesn’t matter.
    All my Love,
    Dd

  • Karen Waer says:

    I’m in Momo. Where do I pledge the money? You are inspirational. Love, Karen

  • Erica says:

    You are an inspiration…Love, light and BREATH Momo!
    Namaste
    xoxo Erica

  • tina says:

    dear sweet strong, all powerful, so tender momo,

    can you hear us cheering in san francisco? we love you, support you, and can’t wait to see you and miss frannie out here soaking up the sunshine

    you are our hero.

    xo tina + the boys

  • LB says:

    After the 9 month triathalon, how hard can a 5K be : )
    The picture of your skin is a hot slap in the face of what you’ve endured. So happy that you’ve made it across the finish line and have a chance to celebrate at the end of this month. Love + strength. xoxolb

  • Ruth says:

    I’ll be right alongside you on Sept. 23rd, walking, running, crawling, skipping – whatever, just as I hope and pray you have known we were all there for you this whole time. You may have felt alone while basting and marinating but the friends who are your condiments in life have been cheering from the bleachers…..

    REMEMBER EVERYONE – you can support Marilyn in Race for the Cure $$$$$, but you can also join Team Momo for day of festivities!

  • Caryl says:

    you’ve given enough— how about sipping a strong alcoholic beverage while everyone else walks? We’ll make plenty of donations! I think the “Ironwoman” or something that celebrates “heavy lifting” sounds like a closer reflection—Your strength and beauty are astounding!

  • Liz Hill says:

    Enjoy every second of your overdue and very well deserved vacation!

  • Bobbie Beyer says:

    I gave my $10! All this poor college student has got. But you should know that this is not the first time that I have donated money for breast cancer in your name! Last year my friend Rachel’s mother did the race for the cure… I think. Either way it was the same kind of donation form. Anyway, it was for breast cancer, and I made a nominal donation in your name 🙂

  • Gail says:

    Momo,
    I surprised myself this week and made the impulsive decision to run with you in the Race for the Cure. I don’t know how far I’ll get, but just signing up was monumental. Of course it doesn’t compare to your herculean efforts and your inimitable wit – both of which we all admire. I’m so proud of you, I sent the link to a few of my friends and voila – we have another $200+ to add to the coffers towards your goal. You put yourself out there in a BIG way and …..Now I really gotta’ do my part. Ay gevalt! Your team is awaiting your command. We stand at the ready. I think the appropriate phrase is “Godspeed”!
    With healing thoughts and hopes for painfree days,
    Gail

  • Somebody essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your web page and to this
    point? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual put up amazing.
    Magnificent job!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the finish line at The Momo Blog.

meta

