is it soup yet?

December 10, 2009 § 14 Comments

I make a great red lentil soup, and each time it’s a little different. Ginger and garlic to start. Add cumin seeds, onions, sometimes fennel or parsnips – certainly carrots. Love butternut squash or sweet potatoes, yukon golds work well too. Water or vegetable broth, possibly chicken broth and of course the red lentils.

If I use green lentils, then chopped celery is mandatory.

It all goes in the pot, a random mix like day old produce, shapes and colors and a promising aroma. I put the cover on and walk away. It is better without me.

Much later it is a fragrant mix the consistency of sludge. I share and we all chant “yum”.

Yesterday I received the equivalent of a grocery bag worth of information. Pieces from an MRI, another from the radiation oncologist. More from my primary oncologist, a comment from a fill-in PCP and not until much later did it make it’s way through the Martin sieve where it stewed overnight.

When I woke up at the crack of dawn with a headache, I realized it was caused by the tumor at the base of my skull. It all came together like sludge. I chanted “shit”.

My mom passed away 13 years ago, and today we had a conversation. She reassured me Frannie would be OK. She promised me I would be able to keep an eye on her and nudge her in the right direction. Everyone else would be ok. Eventually the economy would recover.

I thought about this cancer that grew in spite of chemotherapy, in spite of radiation, in spite of hormone therapies and vegetarian diets, accupuncture, exercise, supplements and pink ribbon tie clips.

I thought about natural disasters and random acts of violence and how the only thing we control is how we deal with what we are given. Soup recipes to follow.

§ 14 Responses to is it soup yet?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading is it soup yet? at The Momo Blog.

meta

